Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Username: Password:

Author Topic: Activating a spell form an item  (Read 90 times)

Kalajel

  • Level 16
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1140
  • Angry Badger God
Activating a spell form an item
« on: 06. January 2017, 01:59:02 »

I just noticed that on p.93 of the rulebook, it states that activating a spell from an item takes "one full action to release". I was wondering what that meant exactly, since there is not really any sort of partial actions in the game...

Could it be possible that they meant to mean it takes a full round to release the spell fro an item in order to avoid making spell items much better than using scrolls (which gets destroyed after use) or wands (which requires you to know the spell)?

vikleroy

  • Level 7
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
Re: Activating a spell form an item
« Reply #1 on: 19. January 2017, 06:00:03 »

By full action, I think that in your action you can move and attack. So, using this kind of spell means that you can't move in your turn (imo).
Logged

madmalik

  • Level 6
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • DungeonSlayers VF
Re: Activating a spell form an item
« Reply #2 on: 19. January 2017, 14:46:56 »

Using a magical object is like casting a spell or making an attack: it takes a full action.
It's not a free action. The wording meaning : You can't do anything else during that round.
Logged

vikleroy

  • Level 7
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 94
Re: Activating a spell form an item
« Reply #3 on: 19. January 2017, 20:51:36 »

So you can move and use the spell from magical item (I was wrong)
Logged

Dextolen

  • Level 16
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1058
    • My Facebook
Re: Activating a spell form an item
« Reply #4 on: 08. February 2017, 19:32:34 »

That's how i have (and will) always run it. You can move, then cast or use. (or cast/use then move)